News Release

The Milton Youth Task Force (MYTF) announced the 2021 Milton youth award winners on May 1, 2021. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the MYTF is postponing its award presentation ceremony until it is safe to do so.

2021 youth award winners:

  • Youth Artist of the Year - Aarav Raj (sponsored by Fine Arts Society of Milton)
  • Youth Athlete of the Year - Ismail Hassan
  • Champion for Youth - Youth Innovators of Milton (YIM) Canada C/O Shanza Khan
  • Youth Change-Maker - Amber Siddiqui
  • Youth Eco Warrior - Aditi Kansal
  • Good Neighbour - Heraa Muqri (sponsored by Mattamy Homes)
  • Outstanding Group of the Year - The Special Friends Network
  • Community Leadership - Sheharyar Khan

"Congratulations to the recipients of the 2021 youth awards," said Mayor Gord Krantz. “Celebrating initiatives such as the youth awards puts a well-deserved spotlight on outstanding young people and local organizations who are driving change, leadership and creativity in Milton.”

The Milton youth awards recognize the contributions of young people in Milton, as well as businesses, agencies and organizations who support youth. The awards aim to promote a positive image of young people and to generate awareness of the valuable contributions that youth and supportive adults make in our community.

In addition to the youth awards, Milton celebrates National Youth Week (May 1-7) with free activities, learning opportunities and events for youth ages 11-19. This year, the MYTF will offer Youth Week activities and programs online to meet COVID-19 regulations. We thank our community partners for their ongoing support to make Milton a place of possibility for the bright, engaged and talented youth that are integral to our growing community.

- 30 –

For media inquiries, please contact: 
Jessica Rabaey
Communications Advisor
905-878-7252 ext. 2166
Email Communications Staff