Halton Region elected officials support the call for the creation of safety zones around hospitals to protect people seeking or providing medical treatment from harassment.

Recent protests at hospitals have included hateful and harmful messages, harassment and misinformation.
Healthcare itself and its people have been targets of abusive messages.

We condemn the abuse and harassment of healthcare workers.

Protests against government policy and action should take place at the places of government.

We represent our community’s continuing strong support for our healthcare heroes. There is an overwhelming majority in our community who support our healthcare people.

We know they join in our respect for everyone’s right of peaceful protest. We know they also believe protests must not take place in locations or in ways that could impede access to essential healthcare.

We all thank our healthcare personnel for the enormous sacrifices you have made and continue to make during this pandemic to heal us and keep us safe.

Signed by,

Mayor Gordon Krantz, Town of Milton
Ward 1 Regional Councillor Colin Best
Ward 1 Town Councillor Kristina Tesser Derksen
Ward 2 Town Councillor John Challinor II
Ward 2 Regional Councillor Rick Malboeuf
Ward 3 Regional Councillor Mike Cluett
Ward 3 Town Councillor Rick Di Lorenzo
Ward 4 Town Councillor Sameera Ali
Ward 4 Regional Councillor Zeeshan Hamid

Halton Regional Chair Gary Carr

Mayor Marianne Meed Ward, City of Burlington
Ward 1 City and Regional Councillor Kelvin Galbraith, City of Burlington
Ward 2 City and Regional Councillor Lisa Kearns, City of Burlington
Ward 3 City and Regional Councillor Rory Nisan, City of Burlington
Ward 4 City and Regional Councillor Shawna Stolte, City of Burlington
Ward 5 City and Regional Councillor Paul Sharman, City of Burlington
Ward 6 City and Regional Councillor Angelo Bentivegna, City of Burlington

Mayor Rick Bonnette, Town of Halton Hills
Ward 1 Town Councillor Michael Albano
Ward 1 Town Councillor Jon Hurst
Ward 2 Town Councillor Ted Brown
Ward 2 Town Councillor Bryan Lewis
Ward 3 Town Councillor Wendy Farrow-Reed
Ward 3 Town Councillor Moya Johnson
Ward 4 Town Councillor Bob Inglis
Ward 4 Town Councillor Ann Lawlor
Wards 1 & 2 Regional Councillor Clark Somerville
Wards 3 & 4 Regional Councillor Jane Fogal

Mayor Rob Burton, Town of Oakville
Ward 1 Town Councillor Beth Robertson
Ward 1 Regional Councillor Sean O’Meara
Ward 2 Town Councillor Ray Chisholm
Ward 2 Regional Councillor Cathy Duddeck
Ward 3 Town Councillor Janet Haslett-Theall
Ward 3 Regional Councillor Dave Gittings
Ward 4 Town Councillor Peter Longo
Ward 4 Regional Councillor Allan Elgar
Ward 5 Town Councillor Marc Grant
Ward 5 Regional Councillor Jeff Knoll
Ward 6 Town Councillor Natalia Lishchyna
Ward 6 Regional Councillor Tom Adams
Ward 7 Town Councillor Jasvinder Sandhu
Ward 7 Regional Councillor Pavan Parmar


For more information please reach out to the following media contacts:

Town of Milton:
Region of Halton:
City of Burlington: and
Town of Halton Hills:
Town of Oakville: and